America–Keep Calm and Love Like Crazy!

It has been quite a week here in America, has it not?  We made it through the worst Presidential campaign that I have ever had the displeasure of witnessing, and we have made it through the election and to the other side, happily.  Of course, that happiness is only in my mind, because I like to keep my mind happy. I am truly happy that it is all finally over.  Let me insert a disclaimer at this point.  This post is not meant to incite a riot, or to become a political debate.  That is not where I am heading, so please do not head there, either.  Thank you so much.

As is the norm when it comes to Presidential elections, there was one candidate who won, and there was one candidate who lost.  That is traditionally how it works, and from what I can tell, it is the point of the whole process, as gawd-awful as it can appear at times.  Now, here we sit as a country with a lot of people who are seriously unhappy that their candidate did not win, so much so that a number of states are petitioning to secede from the United States.

Thank you to Cecilia Hanna and Good Juju for this poster!

I am left wondering what we must look like to the rest of the world, especially to the people in poor countries, or countries where they do not have privilege of voting for their leaders.   I suspect that the United States looks like a giant preschooler from a well-to-do family who, having been denied a KitKat bar at the store checkout, is having a very loud, ugly, and extremely public hissy fit.  If you have kids, you know just how embarrassing those hissy fits can be, and if you do not have kids, you have probably witnessed a public hissy fit or two, and they are just never attractive.  I am not finding this “Imma up and leave America and Imma take my whole state with me, I am so darned mad” hissy fit attractive at all.  We are not a nation of quitters, are we?

I do not know about you, but on a day-to-day basis I do not get my way all of the time, or even most of the time.  Do not get me wrong.  I like to get my way as much as the next person, but I can accept not getting my way without a public tantrum.  Heck, I am not even prone to private tantrums a whole lot.  If I gave up on something every time that I did not get my way, well I suspect that I would be awfully lonesome.  I can keep on loving someone, or something, even if in that minute, or situation, I did not get my way.  I can support a President that I did not vote for just as easily as I can support a President that I did vote for, because as Americans that is our job.  It is our job to stand behind the poor guy who has what I believe to be the least coveted job in American, from where I sit, anyway.

I mean, seriously, take a look at some before and after pictures of most of our past Presidents.  They go into the job looking all shiny and new and they come out with gray hair and looking as if they have aged 10 years for every year that they served.  It is not an easy job when you have your country supporting you nicely.  It has got to be a damned miserable job when almost half of the country is gunning for you.  The guy—each one–is only human, but we expect so much.  Do we expect that much from ourselves?  Not even close.

I still see people saying that our nation is divided and that it is President Obama’s fault, and yet I do not see him saying anything that in any way is encouraging unhappy voters to hate those who voted for him, or to run if they did not like the outcome of the election.  I believe that he would sincerely like us to stand together as a nation and to support him as best as we can.  We are dividing ourselves in a way that leaves me sad beyond words.  It is time to stop.

America, it is time to keep calm and love like crazy.  It is time that we, as a nation, remember that we are all in this together.  We are friends, neighbors, families, co-workers.  We are all human beings who need to be loved, and who need to love a whole lot more.  If we do not settle down soon and start to love on each other again, well we will have only ourselves to blame for any less than optimum outcomes.

America, it is time to put on your happy pants and remember what a great country this is and it is also time to look around you at all of the people who are struggling just as you are.  Hatred and mass discontent is not going to get any of us anywhere, but man oh man, if we all decided to engage in a love revolution, just imagine how much healing could happen, and imagine just how far ahead we would be in the future from where we stand today!

You say you cannot love the President?  That is perfectly okay.  Can you love your friend or neighbor even if they voted differently than you?  I bet you can.  If you loved them before, you can love them now.  The great thing about this country, and about this whole, big, wide world, is that we are all different.  We Americans so cling to our fierce need to be individuals that we sometimes forget that everyone else gets to be an individual, too.  Imagine a country, and a world, where we embraced differences–where we hugged the heck out of our differences and truly celebrated those grand and wonderful differences.  Imagine a country, and a world, where love was the native tongue, and the currency, and the most popular medication on the market.

What would happen if we let go of hatred, and the past, and the need to blame, and we moved forward into a future fueled by crazy amounts of love for our fellow man, no matter how different he might be.  What if we all chose to love the heck out of our country even if we do not care for the man who won the election.  What if we all stopped putting up grumpy Facebook statuses that continue to divide friends and families and our whole nation and we all took a deep breath and a giant step back and really believed that we will be okay, because we will.

We will be okay just as soon as we move into a love-like-crazy frame of mind and follow it up with some action.  If you cannot do it for your friends or neighbors, then do it for your children.  Stand tall, America!  Stand tall, keep calm, and love like crazy.  Let the healing begin within you, but do not be stingy!  It is time to start tossing love around wherever we go.  Love is the healing balm, so spread it around freely.  We will all be fine if we start to love like crazy.  Just do it.  Yes, I do mean you.

21 thoughts on “America–Keep Calm and Love Like Crazy!

  1. Pingback: America–Keep Calm and Love Like Crazy! | Natural Beauty and Skin Care Made Easy

  2. Sure wish we could get all News stations to read this to the American people as a whole. Very well said, thought out and expressed. I am sure we have larger items on the stove boiling that need immediate attention within the US. Thanks for sharing!

    • Thank you so much! We do have much bigger fish to fry! We have parts of our own country that were ravaged by Hurricane Sandy and that is going to take some work to fix. There are so many huge issues in line behind that we could be looking at, as well. Sadly, I do not know any major news anchors…LOL.

  3. What a fantastic article and one so desperately needed! I am so glad you did this excellent post and it reflects my feelings completely. As a Canadian watching the lead up to the election, the results of the election where America spoke for a second time on who they wanted in and the aftermath of those still trying to tear the country apart, this message is more than needed.

    The negativity and hostility, the intolerance, hatred and bigotry is what is tearing the U.S. apart, not the President, not the political party – it is the American people allowing this behaviour and participating in it. If even a fraction of the monies spent for this election and the energy behind it all from many were used to help one another – the country would be in an entirely different place. I hope people come to their senses, stop having their temper tantrums and get behind their President to do what is right for all Americans.

    Thank you for expressing my sentiments and putting it down so eloquently.

    • Thank you so much, Barb. I, too, very much pray that people here come to their senses soon. I know you know my thoughts beyond that, so this will suffice for here and now. Keep praying! Xoxoxo

  4. I love this oh so much and I too have seen the divide that has happened and find myself wondering why? I have never been particularly political just because of how politics can get muddy and grimly, but it is time for us to get rid of the lines that we draw in the sand and realize we are in this together regardless of who is in the White House. I hope for our children’s sake we move beyond hate and divide and into hope and love. As you said if not for our friends and neighbors, but for our children. Thank you for sharing this message 🙂

    • How did I miss you last night when I was replying to comments. Being middle-aged has its drawbacks, like blindness 😉 Thank you so much for your comments. I do not consider myself particularly political, either, but I think I am more than I am willing to admit. It’s the chicken in me. I hate to rock boats, but this boat needs to be rocked hard! Also, with one son in his 4th year of a 5 year PhD program in Poly Sci, I have to pay attention, as I have some very political kids. Some voted for one candidate, some for the other, but we still love each other like crazy! Xoxoxo

      • No worries at all! You have your hands full with baking pumpkin bars I hear! I too am more aware than in past years and I don’t believe it is a coincidence. I truly love your insights and look forward to reading more. 🙂

  5. Wahoo! Funny, I was thinking about secession earlier, but I was getting all into constructing logical arguments while trying to argue with fools. And yeah, that’s what the secessionists are: fools. I’m going to try your way. Keep calm and love like crazy. Love it!

    • Oh, good heavens! Don’t tell me that we are channeling each other now? 😉 See, there is difference number eight. You are a lawyer. You construct arguments. I am a nurse. I fluff pillows, and ask people if they need a hug. 😉 Oh, and save lives…LOLOL! Okay, once or twice, but my biggest claim to fame is making a really good bed while someone is still in it. And IV’s. I was exceptionally good at IV’s. We are both good at loving like crazy! Xoxoxo

  6. I can love like crazy, yes, I will join you! I am so often embarrassed by American behavior, I’ve compared us to a spoiled teen before. We know just enough to cause real damage, and tend to think we know it all… and now it seems we will just run away from home. 😀

    • I think they are settling down now a bit—the other Americans. I have two friends who won’t let it go…one is mad and one is gloating. Next time either does it again, they get this post right in the comments 😉 I know you can love like crazy, sweetie! Xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

